Compare
Dokus vs Accountable
Choose Accountable when…
You are self-employed as a natural person and want to file your VAT and income tax returns yourself in the app, with tax coaches and a tax guarantee behind you.
- Free invoicing on your phone, with Peppol sending included
- VAT and income tax returns on the Taxes and Max plans
- A free business account, and free access for an accountant
Choose Dokus when…
An accountant files for you and you want what reaches them to be complete: each document with its source, payments matched, and a plain view of what is paid, due and missing.
- Every figure comes from a document you can open
- Payments matched to invoices with the reason shown: clear ones confirm themselves, the rest you confirm
- Ask your records a question and open the invoices in the answer
The differences that matter
Built in
Through a connection
By hand
Not offered
Not verified
Built in
On Taxes and Max. Income tax for the self-employed as natural persons; a company can submit its own VAT return.[1]
Not offered
Dokus gives your accountant the records behind the return.
Built in
Free registration and unlimited sending on every plan; receiving included.[1]
Built in
Send and receive without a limit on every plan, Free included.
Built in
One account on Free and Invoicing Plus, five on Bookkeeping and Taxes, ten on Max.[1]
Built in
Upload statements (CSV or PDF) on Free. Live bank feed on Core, 3 accounts included.
Not verified
Not stated on the pricing page.
Built in
Confirmed on its own when the payment names who paid and nothing else fits; otherwise suggested with the reason and confirmed by you.
Built in
Free access on every plan.[1]
Built in
Free access. On Core, confirmed records forward themselves.
Built in
A tax advisor chatbot from Invoicing Plus; tax coaches on Taxes and Max; a tax guarantee up to €500 per declaration, €10,000 on Max.[1]
Not offered
Dokus is not a tax adviser.
Not verified
Not stated on the pricing page.
Built in
Ask: 15 questions a month on Free, without a limit on Core. Answers list the records behind them.
Built in
A free business account and card, Accountable Banking.[1]
Not offered
Dokus is not a bank.
What comes in and goes out, from your documents
Switching, and what Dokus does not do
If you move to Dokus
- 1Keep your Accountable history where it is. Past returns and bookings stay there; Dokus does not import them.
- 2Start Dokus Free. Forward invoices by email or upload them, and import your bank statements as CSV or PDF.
- 3Move your Peppol registration to Dokus. A business is registered with one Peppol access point at a time.
- 4Invite your accountant. Their access is free.
What Dokus does not do
- Dokus does not file VAT or income tax returns and gives no tax advice.
- Dokus has no tax guarantee and no business bank account.
- Dokus does not import records from Accountable.
- If you file your own returns without an accountant, Accountable covers more of that job.
What it costs today
Accountable
- Free Invoicing
€0
Mobile app only; one bank account; five expenses booked a month.
- Invoicing Plus
€9.90 a month
Excl. VAT, in a yearly plan. Invoicing on web and mobile.
- Bookkeeping
€19.90 a month
Excl. VAT, in a yearly plan. Five bank accounts; no tax returns.
- Taxes
€20.90 or €29.90 a month
Excl. VAT, in a yearly plan: €20.90 if you are not subject to VAT, €29.90 if you are. VAT and income tax returns.
- Max
€59.90 a month
Excl. VAT, in a yearly plan with a 12-month commitment. A personal tax coach.
These are monthly prices on a yearly plan, paid for the year at once. Accountable’s FAQ says the yearly plan is 25% cheaper than paying monthly; the monthly prices are not listed on the page. An earlier version of this comparison called €59.90 a yearly price. It is a monthly one.
Dokus
- Free
€0
No card. Send and receive Peppol invoices without a limit, upload statements (CSV or PDF) with matching, ask 15 questions a month, free accountant access.
- Core
€29 a month, excl. VAT
Billed monthly from the day you start; there is no annual plan. Live bank feed with 3 accounts included and €3 a month excl. VAT for each further one, the hand-off to your accountant on its own, Ask without a limit.
No per-invoice fee and no per-user charge: billed per workspace, and teammates and your accountant are free.
Questions
Does Dokus replace my accountant?
Does Accountable work with an accountant?
Is Accountable’s €59.90 a year or a month?
Free is €0, with no card. Core is €29 a month excl. VAT, billed from the day you start.
All comparisonsSources
- 1Accountable, pricing page (Belgium): accountable.eu/en-be/pricing/
- 2Dokus pricing and plan contents
Last checked 22 October 2026.
Last updated: 2026-10-22