All briefings

InvoicingGuidance

What does Peppol cost? Free options compared (Belgium)

Peppol itself is free; the software is not. On 22 October 2026: €0 options (Accountable, a Billit year via KBC) and paid plans from €3.99 a month.

By Artem Kuznetsov, founder

Published
Verified

Read as

What matters now

Effective now
Since 1 January 2026, Belgian VAT-registered businesses must be able to send and receive structured e-invoices. The government offers no free tool; providers do.
Next date
The 120% deduction for e-invoicing subscriptions runs to the end of taxable period 2027. KBC's free Billit year applies to new contracts only.
Main impact
Entry prices on 22 October 2026: €0 (Accountable), €3.99 a month excl. VAT (OkiOki Start), €7.50 a month (Billit Starter), €33.60 a year excl. VAT (DocclePro), €20.00 a month excl. VAT (banqup).
Action today
Check whether your bank or accountant's software already includes Peppol, count your documents in and out, and make sure the offer receives as well as sends.

Sources

  1. 01efactuur.belgium.be (FPS Finance / FPS BOSA): why the government offers no central solution
  2. 02efactuur.belgium.be: fiscal incentives, 120% increased deduction for taxable periods 2024 to 2027
  3. 03efactuur.belgium.be: list of software for sending, receiving and processing e-invoices
  4. 04efactuur.belgium.be: general B2B FAQ
  5. 05FPS BOSA: Mercurius
  6. 06Minutes of the 37th Belgian Peppol service providers plenary, 30 September 2025 (Hermes decommissioning)
  7. 07Accountable: pricing page, 22 October 2026
  8. 08OkiOki (Xerius): pricing page, 22 October 2026
  9. 09Billit: pricing page, 22 October 2026
  10. 10KBC: Billit
  11. 11Telenet Business: DocclePro (Doccle)
  12. 12banqup: pricing page, 22 October 2026
  13. 13Dexxter: pricing page, 22 October 2026
  14. 14Belfius Professional: facturation électronique
  15. 15Proximus: Peppol (self-employed and small companies)

Peppol itself has no price. You pay for the software that connects you to the network, and for a small business that can be €0: Accountable has a free plan that sends and receives, and KBC gives a first year of Billit free on conditions. The paid entry plans compared here start at €3.99 a month excl. VAT. The government offers no free tool of its own.

Since 1 January 2026, a Belgian VAT-registered business has to be able to send and receive structured e-invoices with other Belgian businesses. If you are not sure what that involves, start with what Peppol e-invoicing is. This page is about the bill.


What do you actually pay for with Peppol?

Peppol is a network with shared rules. You do not pay the network. You pay a provider that connects you to it, called an access point, which almost always comes inside invoicing or accounting software.

The offers fall into three price models:

  • A free plan, limited on something other than Peppol: one device, one bank account, a few expenses a month.
  • A monthly subscription with a number of documents included and a price for each extra one.
  • A yearly price with a cap on the number of invoices.

Check what counts as a document. At Billit, every invoice, credit note or receipt you send or receive counts as one. At OkiOki, the 250 documents of the Start plan are incoming and outgoing together.

Receiving counts as much as sending. The obligation is to be able to do both, so an offer that only sends does not cover you.


Is there a free Peppol option from the government?

No. The federal e-invoicing site, efactuur.belgium.be, says the government deliberately does not offer a central application: it would make every invoice depend on a single system and distort the market. The same page says the cost of meeting the obligation can be zero when e-invoicing comes with something you already use, such as accounting software or a bank account.

Hermes, the former free federal fallback, was switched off on 31 December 2025, with read-only access to old invoices until March 2026. Mercurius, run by the FPS BOSA, is the mailroom for public authorities that receive e-invoices. It is not a tool for invoicing other businesses.


Which Peppol offers are free or cheap?

Prices as published on 22 October 2026, each read on the provider's own page. Prices change, so check before you choose.

OfferSendsReceivesPrice as publishedLimit as published
Accountable, free planYesYes€0Mobile app only; 1 bank account; 5 expenses a month
OkiOki (Xerius), StartYesYes€3.99 a month excl. VAT250 documents in total, in and out (fair use)
Billit, StarterYesYes€7.50 a month, €6.90 billed yearly; VAT not stated25 documents a month; €0.50 per extra document
Billit through KBCYesYes€0 for the first year, then from €7.50 a month excl. VAT500 invoices a month, 6,000 in the free year
DocclePro (Doccle)YesYes€33.60 a year excl. VAT; 30% off for Telenet Business customers500 invoices sent a year; €0.05 per extra invoice
banqup, Premium E-invoicingYesYes€20.00 a month excl. VATUp to 100 documents a month at that price; 3 users
DexxterListed as "e-invoicing via Peppol"Not split out€23 or €30 a month excl. VAT; €220 or €290 a yearNo Peppol limit stated

What the table does not show:

  • Accountable's free plan works in the mobile app only. The web version starts with a paid plan.
  • The KBC offer applies only to a new Billit contract signed in KBC Mobile or KBC Touch, with a KBC business account and the CODA link with Billit already switched on. After the year, you pay the standard price of the Billit module you chose.
  • DocclePro is sold by Doccle, not by Telenet. Telenet Business customers get 30% off: €33.60 becomes €23.52 a year.
  • Billit is free for the first 15 days and Dexxter for the first 30; after that they are paid.
  • Dexxter's lower price is for businesses not subject to VAT, the higher one for those that are.

Does my bank, telecom provider or social insurance fund give me Peppol?

As their own pages read on 22 October 2026:

  • KBC: yes, through Billit, with the first year free on the conditions above.
  • Belfius: its page for professionals names no Peppol tool of its own and refers you to your accountant or software provider.
  • Proximus: no Peppol product for your own invoices. It sends its own bills over Peppol once you are connected through other software.
  • Telenet: no tool of its own either; it gives Telenet Business customers 30% off DocclePro, which Doccle provides.
  • Xerius: OkiOki, its administration tool, with Start at €3.99 a month excl. VAT.

Can I pay an invoice through Peppol?

No. Peppol delivers the invoice to your software. The payment still leaves from your bank account, by transfer or direct debit, as before.


Can I deduct what Peppol costs?

Yes, at 120%. For taxable periods 2024 to 2027, small companies and self-employed people who use a subscription can deduct 120% of what they pay for invoicing software and for advice needed to meet the obligation. If e-invoicing is an extra charge on a subscription you already had, that charge has to be shown separately on the invoice.

An example: €7.50 a month is €90 a year. At 120%, you deduct €108.


What should I do now?

  1. Check what you already have. Your accountant's software or your bank may already include Peppol.
  2. Count your documents in a normal month, sent and received together, and compare that with the limits above.
  3. Make sure the offer receives as well as sends.
  4. Once connected, run through the Peppol setup checklist. If a supplier still sends you a PDF, read what that means for your VAT deduction.

No public tool replaces an access point: the government declines to offer one and says compliance can cost €0 when it comes bundled. Entry prices published on 22 October 2026 run from €0 (Accountable) to €20.00 a month excl. VAT (banqup), with different units: documents in and out, invoices sent, or none stated. The 120% increased deduction covers taxable periods 2024 to 2027.


What does a client need to have?

Software connected to Peppol that can send, receive and process structured e-invoices, as the federal e-invoicing FAQ puts it. Receiving is part of the obligation, not an option, so a send-only offer does not cover the client.

The FPS Finance publishes a list of conforming software on efactuur.belgium.be. It is limited to end-user software, it is not complete (only registered applications appear), it carries no prices, and the FPS Finance states that it recommends no product.

Is there a public alternative to a provider?

No. The government's own answer is that it deliberately offers no central application, to avoid a single point of failure and a distorted market. It adds that the cost of compliance can be €0 when e-invoicing is part of another product, such as accounting software or a bank account.

Hermes was decommissioned on 31 December 2025, with read-only access until March 2026 (minutes of the 37th Belgian Peppol service providers plenary, 30 September 2025). Mercurius (FPS BOSA) serves contracting authorities as the receiving mailroom for public-sector e-invoices; it does not give a business a way to invoice other businesses.

What do providers charge, and per what unit?

Prices as published on 22 October 2026, each on the provider's own page:

OfferPrice as publishedUnit and limit
Accountable, free plan€0Peppol sending and receiving without a stated limit; mobile app only, 1 bank account, 5 expenses a month
OkiOki (Xerius), Start€3.99 a month excl. VAT250 documents in total, incoming and outgoing combined (fair use)
Billit, Starter€7.50 a month, €6.90 billed yearly; VAT treatment not stated25 documents a month; each invoice, credit note or receipt sent or received counts; €0.50 per extra
Billit through KBC€0 in year one, then from €7.50 a month excl. VAT500 invoices a month, 6,000 over the year; extra costs beyond that, amounts not published by KBC
DocclePro (Doccle)€33.60 a year excl. VAT; 30% off for Telenet Business (€23.52)500 invoices sent a year; €0.05 per extra invoice
banqup, Premium E-invoicing€20.00 a month excl. VATUp to 100 documents a month at that price; 3 users included
Dexxter€23 / €30 a month or €220 / €290 a year excl. VAT (not subject / subject to VAT)"E-facturatie via Peppol" listed on every plan; no Peppol limit stated

The KBC year applies only to a new Billit contract signed through KBC Mobile or KBC Touch, by someone authorised on a KBC business account, with the company number registered at KBC and the CODA link with Billit already activated by a legal representative. Changing Billit licence during the year ends it.

Proximus and Belfius publish no Peppol offer for a client's own invoicing. Telenet publishes a discount on DocclePro, provided by Doccle.

Which offer fits which client?

  • Few documents, mostly incoming: a free plan that receives without a limit, or OkiOki Start if 250 documents in total will last.
  • Steady low volume, with a KBC business account: the KBC year, then Billit Starter. Count the volume first: 25 documents a month includes what comes in.
  • Low sending volume, yearly budget: DocclePro, capped on invoices sent.
  • Client who also needs returns filed: the plans that include them, such as Dexxter's.

How does the 120% deduction work?

For taxable periods 2024 to 2027, small companies and self-employed people using a subscription can deduct 120% of the periodic subscription costs of invoicing software and of advice costs incurred to meet the new obligation. Where e-invoicing is an extra charge on an existing subscription, that extra charge qualifies, provided it is shown separately on the invoice. Depreciation never qualifies.

A company is small if, at the balance-sheet date of its last closed financial year, it does not exceed more than one of these: turnover €11,250,000, balance-sheet total €6,000,000, 50 employees.

Worked example: €7.50 a month, €90 a year, deducted at 120%: €108.

For the file

  • Record which provider receives for the client, and the participant identifier it registered.
  • Keep the provider's invoices; where e-invoicing is a surcharge, check it is itemised before claiming 120%.
  • Recheck volume against the plan once a year; documents received count at Billit and OkiOki.
  • Setup and the silent-receipt failures are covered in the Peppol setup checklist; deduction on purchases that arrive as PDF in the briefing on receiving structured invoices.

DOKUS

Dokus Free is €0 with Peppol sending and receiving included without a monthly cap (fair use); Core is €29 a month excl. VAT.

See how it works